Something incredible happened this week

Something incredible happened this week. I was introduced to a new little girl.  This girl was sweet and had much potential.  But this girl was so misunderstood due to serious learning disabilities.  She couldn’t function in so many ways, so many settings.  Her mom thought her frustration and stubbornness was the overflow of a hard and rebellious heart.  Her lack of attention in school and certain subjects as laziness.  Her moodiness and selfishness to be exasperating character flaws.

However, this little girl was dying for love, understanding and security.  She needed someone who would patiently embrace her differences and lovingly guide her through the frightening, dark labyrinth she was trapped in.

Instead, this girl faced alone her struggles with learning and understanding the simplest things.  Math was a foreign language with no translation.  Hearing books read out loud was ‘wa-wa-wa’ in her ears.  She couldn’t focus on what she had just heard. She couldn’t make sense of what she WAS able to focus on.  Her world was frustrating, confusing.  She could see that others could ‘get it’ but she couldn’t.  Too young and immature to express her feelings, thoughts and frustrations, she coped by shutting down.  There were no smiles, no eye contact, flatness in her expression, no response or tiny voice.  It was not just an academic issue, it was a life issue.

Mom grew increasingly worried and exasperated.  Feeling increasingly inadequate she prayed for help.  Everyday battles and ugliness drew tears and anger.  Feelings went from ambiguity to almost a repulsion.  Certainly a strong dislike.  Barely tolerant of this daughter’s behavior.

Then one day, mom met a woman who God used to change everything.  She helped the mom to see that inside the hard, cold, angry exterior was beauty.  She knew how to chisel the bits of marble away until the angel she saw inside, emerged.

Suddenly, mom’s eyes were opened.  She understood.  She saw! She could see her little girl’s beauty!  It would take work, maybe years of careful, loving diligent and even painful, effort.  But God gave mom new eyes to see the precious treasure that was her daughter.

When mom went home, she realized that her feelings and reactions toward her little one changed.  There was a tender, patient and understanding heart when faced with the same resistant behavior.  She cheerfully diffused ugly faces by creatively enticing smiles and hugs.  Then when she said goodnight to this one tonight, a strange, unfamiliar squeeze in her chest took her off guard.  It was a feeling she hadn’t had in years towards her daughter.  It was love.  Tender, eye-soaking love.

I can’t wait to get to know this little girl better. The freshness and calm I feel when she comes bounding in the room with smiles just delights me.  Something exciting happened this week.  I met a sweet, young lady and suddenly I know how blessed I am when she calls me mom.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 05:53:39

    I am crying…hard. Because this is tender and sweet? Yes. But also because there is a different little girl who lives with a mommy like that in this house.

    Reply

  2. wendymom4
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 10:25:02

    Thank you, Julie. On so many levels.

    Reply

  3. Angela
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 10:28:07

    Aww! I am crying too! How GREAT is our God?!! Think of how He deals with us through the “new opened” eyes like you now have for Lauren! I’m so excited for you. I know this is the case with so many Learning Disabled children too. This too, unfortunately a result of our sinful fall in The Garden. I’m praising God for the victory He’s wrought in this relationship and continued prayer for Lauren and you as you navigate through new learning territory!

    Reply

  4. Christina
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 13:28:45

    I’m so glad your years of quiet battle over feeling this way about Lauren are at an end. Now you can really “see” her and love her unconditionally!!! We’re such momma bears so fiercely protective against anything we perceive as “not normal” or up to par. We sometimes turn that ferocity on the very ones we love instead of digging for answers. I’m so proud of you that you never gave up for Lauren!!! I’m definitely affected by your discovery and how I should raise my kids. Thanks Super Jules! I’m so excited and can’t wait for you to share everything you’re going to learn on this new path!

    Reply

  5. julesnpebbles
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 13:40:48

    Thank you all. I just wrote this last night from the overflow of my heart as I was thinking about all that I’ve learned in just a few days! I am looking forward to all that this will bring to our family.

    Chris, thanks for your encouragement. This reminds me of the days we wrote in that journal to each other. I’ve downloaded a bunch of sessions from different NILD conferences. Let’s learn this stuff together!

    Annemarie, I would be glad to share more if you have any questions. This has been a heart-wrenching and private journey for me. I am so glad to share what the Lord has done. We’re only just beginning but what’s been done in my heart is nothing short of a miracle.

    Reply

  6. 5kidswdisabilities
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 19:53:05

    Congratulations on your new daughter, and good luck!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

    Reply

  7. Sarah
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 12:37:55

    This is beautiful. Thank you for sharing. I’m praying now that God continues to bless your journey together. <3

    Reply

  8. Naomi
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 00:16:47

    So beautiful, God is very good. Thanks for sharing this! This makes me want to be ever more intentional about loving my little ones when it’s hard to see the loveliness around me.

    Reply

  9. MarshaMarshaMarsha
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 09:14:57

    Just wanted to let you know that I am thinking about you. :)

    Love,
    Marsha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

