Unspoken Prayers Answered

I asked God for strength, that I might achieve. I was made weak, that I might humbly learn to obey.
I asked for health, that I might do greater things. I was given infirmity, that I might do better things.
I asked for riches, that I might be happy. I was given poverty, that I might be wise.
I asked for power, that I might have the praise of men. I was given weakness, that I might feel the need of God.
I asked for all things, that I might enjoy life. I was given life, that I might enjoy all things.
I got nothing that I asked for, but everything that I hoped for. Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers were answered.
I among all men am most richly blessed.
~An unknown Civil War soldier~

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jess
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:02:27

    How beautiful.. and true! Isn’t God faithful!?

    Thanks for sharing,

    jessica

    Reply

  2. JenIG
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 22:02:10

    you post the bestest stuff

    Reply

  3. sodbusters
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 17:08:30

    Oh so nice to know where that came from! I have that as a cross stitching sampler but how much more significant does it mean knowing its origin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

