Ways We May Glorify God ~ Watson

We had a lively and thought-provoking discussion in our Puritan-Wannabe Book Club (*wink*) this morning at our church discussing the Puritan Thomas Watson’s work, “A Body of Divinity“.  One thing that came up was how Christians easily say, “God created us to bring Him glory or to glorify Him.”  But there is little application or understanding behind that truth.  I want to challenge myself to consider the 17 ways Watson suggests we glorify God:

1.   It is glorifying God when we aim purely at his glory.  We do this:

– when we prefer God’s glory above all other things; above credit, estate, relations
– when we are content that God’s will should take place, though it may cross ours.
– when we are content to be outshined by others in gifts and esteem, so that his glory may be increased.

2.   We glorify God by an ingenuous confession of sin.

3.   We glorify God by believing.

4.   We glorify God, by being tender of his glory.

5.   We glorify God by fruitfulness. It is not profession, but fruit that glorifies God.

6.   We  glorify God, by being contented in that state in which Providence has laced us.  We give God the glory of his wisdom, when we rest satisfied with what he carves out to us.

7.   We glorify God by working out our own salvation (in the sense of obedience, growth, maturing, being sanctified).

8.   We glorify God by living to God.

9.   We glorify God by walking cheerfully.

10.  We glorify God, by standing up for his truths.

11.  We glorify God, by praising him… Many are full of murmuring and discontent, but seldom bring glory to God, by giving him the praise due to his name.

12.  We glorify God, by being zealous for his name.

13.  We glorify God, when we have an eye to God in our natural and in our civil actions…’Herein do I exercise myself, to have always a conscience void of offence toward God, and towards men.’

14.  We glorify God by labouring to draw others to God; by seeking to convert others, and so make them instruments of glorifying God.

15.  We glorify God in a high degree when we suffer for God, and seal the gospel with our blood.

16.  We glorify God, when we give God the glory of all that we do.

17.  We glorify God by a holy life.

So, reflecting upon this past week, I have to ask myself, have I lived, pleasing God, glorifying Him before others?  Or have I brought dishonour to His name?  This is not an exercise in self-condemnation, rather, it should be a renewal of desire to bring every aspect of our lives ‘under subjection’ to our Lord God and Savior out of a heart that yearns to please Him.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 06:40:02

    This speaks to me right where I am at. Three weeks ago, we began our school year and a new devotional entitled “Training Hearts Teaching Minds: Family Devotions based on The Shorter Catechism”. Of course the first week dealt with the primary purpose of man being to glorify God and enjoy Him forever. Glorifying God has always been one of those phrases that I hear bantered about but never really defined.

    So I was drawn to the book “Desiring God” by Piper. As you know, he deals with that in the introduction. It ,and the list that you just posted, have helped to clarify to me, what it means to practically glorify God. I am challenged to make this a daily reality in my life as well as teach it to my children.

    Thanks. 🙂

    ~Annemarie

    Reply

  2. diorthosis
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 21:47:19

    Jules,

    Thanks for the post. I’m going to have to borrow it for my own notes since you laid them out much better than I did. Also, thanks for the coffee.

    JB1

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The chief end of man. « Diorthosis
  4. Trackback: The Chief End of Man « Earthen Vessels II
  5. wendymom4
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 15:13:35

    Hi, Julie….I really enjoyed this post as I read it today. This is one of those “keepers” that I’m going to print off (if I may) and refer back to often. Lately I’ve caught myself saying “for God’s glory” and wondering if I’m being honest in that. I’ve wondered what that truly looked like. Thanks again for sharing that & for keeping this blog. It’s fun to read where you are in your walk & it’s fun to keep in touch that way too.

    Love, Wendy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

