Deep Love for the Father’s Glory

September 11th, 2001   I pray that we remember what happened on that awful day.  I pray we are thankful for the relative peace and freedom we enjoy by God’s grace.  For me, 9/11 was the one day in my life I can look back and pinpoint when God shook me to the very core.  9/11 bookends my spiritual awakening with the startling realization of the awfulness of sin, the depravity of man, the futility of life, the waste of human sacrifice – all without Christ.  To continue life without seeking Him seemed strikingly meaningless and senseless.  I can distinctly look back and draw a line before and after 9/11.  I believe life has never been the same again.

I think of another horrific event in history that we should never forget.  One Man died, not 3000.  One Man was sacrificed but not unwillingly.  It was a plan conceived before the beginning of time, not a senseless murderous plot to destroy, but a purposeful act of love to redeem.  It wasn’t a blood-thirst for appeasing hatefulness, it was the deepest love for the Father’s glory.  Let us never forget.

“When the Father forsook the Son and handed him over to the curse of the cross and lifted not a finger to spare him pain, he had not ceased to love the Son.  In that very moment when the Son was taking upon himself everything that God hates in us, and God was forsaking him to death, even then the Father knew that the measure of his Son’s suffering was the depth of his Son’s love for the Father’s glory.”  John Piper, The Pleasures of God

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 19:53:46

    Julie…I was having similar thoughts today about Jesus sacrificing willingly. I love the way you said this!

    Reply

  2. JenIG
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 22:19:19

    Once again, another beautiful and thoughtful post.
    : )
    hope you are doing well this week, my friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

