Sarah Palin

I thought that would get your attention!

Not to cause a big debate here.  Just some food for thought… I warn you it’s a little piquante!

The Miraculous Sanctification of the Republican Party

Honestly, I am leaning towards the views presented in the above-mentioned blog.  I can’t claim to be educated enough to make a sound, balanced decision (I can’t vote because I’m Canadian but I have to say this whole Sarah Palin hype is getting my attention!).  Anyway, no blasting here please. 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nchomeschoolmom
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 12:40:29

    WOW! That was a powerful blog post! I have to say I do agree with much of what he said. Thanks for linking that, Jules!

    Beth

    Reply

  2. dscody
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 00:51:14

    I, too, agree with Mr. Botkin on this controversial issue; and out of principle, I intend to “waste” my vote on a third party or write-in candidate. I am saddened by recent comments of endorsement for Mrs. Palin’s candidacy by some spiritual leaders for whom I have great respect — particularly Al Mohler and Gary DeMar.

    Reply

  3. Jeremy Bias (JB2)
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 06:28:06

    I’ll be the one detractor…for now anyway. I haven’t spent vast amounts of time studying this subject, but I don’t have the hesitation some have in this selection. I believe it requires some stretching to make a scriptual case against a female in any “civil magistrate” position, but I understand that others see a stretch required for my view on this subject. Thanks for the post!

    Reply

  4. JenIG
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 09:18:09

    you can’t vote because you’re Canadian?? I think you told me you were Canadian and I totally forgot about that.

    Ok.. SO… do you want to meet me up in IL on Nov 7th?? I blogged about it. I think you guys should go! You drove to OH, what’s the difference, eh?

    Reply

  5. julesnpebbles
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 15:31:15

    Yes, I. AM. CANADIAN.
    I have to read your blog – after schoolwork is all done. I would love to go to meet you in IL. Just don’t know if hubbyman would love me doing that. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 19:34:24

    Oh ladies, what a privilege it is to even have this discussion. As I read Julie’s post (and many many other posts and other blog sites, magazine articles, etc. out there) I was reminded of the multitude of issues surrounding this particular election. My first reaction to Sarah Palin being chosen for VP was “but what about her children?”… and then “how will this impact her husband and his authority in the home?” and “is secular authority the same as biblical authority?” and “is it even right to vote for her?”. My biggest concern in this matter is that I do not want a party (specifically the candidate of that party) who is notorious for approving–and furthering–abortion rights & gay rights (among other things) and opposing religious rights (among other things) to be in control of this country. When I vote third-party I am truly advancing the candidate who is ahead in the race (and that looks like the one who is part of the aforementioned party). Is that something my conscience can live with? Often our choices are not black & white, but rather very gray. This definitely seems to be the case here……..so is it more wrong to vote for a woman (who claims to be a believer) than for a man/party who opposes Jesus in actions and sometimes word? Frankly, I am a recovering feminist and I may be more sympathetic than I should be, but even with the teachings that I’ve been under regarding biblical headship, etc., I still can’t fathom that voting for a woman is worse than voting for a man who encourages partial-birth abortions and one who is blind to the jihad against Christians and other non-muslims. I suppose I am still wrestling with all of this enough to not really know whose name I will actually vote for on Election Day and maybe this reply is my written evidence of that thought process. What I do know for certain is that I’m so thankful that our God is sovereign over all! And regardless of who our next president is, we must humbly bow before God and call upon Him in prayer for our nation. None of the candidates–liberal, conservative, libertarian, constitutional, green party, independent–are our saviors. Our hope is not in them. What I hope is that we are not blindly following the mouthpieces out there in TV land, blog land, wherever and just voting according to their wishes. Seek out God through His Word and in prayer to make an informed choice for the good of this nation.

    Reply

  7. julesnpebbles
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 20:29:06

    Whoa nelly! You should write a blog or something, Wendy!! You have guts to say what you’ve just said… I’ve taken a more uncommitted stance.

    Reply

  8. Wendy
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 21:41:52

    Jules….i’m off my soapbox now. 🙂 sorry about being such a big mouth! haha you’re fortunate in this case to be more uncommitted. i really feel like i must vote and that i don’t have an option not to; it’s so frustrating to know what to do in this case. i pray that if i’m utterly wrong that God will have much grace over my actions. p.s. thanks for your comments over on iron2iron.

    Reply

  9. Wendy
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 10:38:47

    I just opened up my kids’ WORLD magazines (“God’s World”) and found some great quotes under each president in their presidential poster. Very interesting stuff like “A people that values its privileges above its principles soon loses both” (Eisenhower) and “The Bible is the rock on which this Republic rests” (A. Jackson). Also “It is impossible to rightly govern a nation without God and the Bible” (Washington) and “Our Consitution was made only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other” (J. Adams). Most profound to me and challenging for my previous statements above is: “Always vote for principle, though you may vote alone” (John Quincy Adams). Oh boy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

