Stir up my spirit, Lord

All of us experience seasons of spiritual dryness.  Sometimes the Lord allows his imperfect godly ones to pass through a period of purification and sanctification in the desert to dry us of mold-producing dampness.  Sometimes it’s the fruit of our own workings – the weeks of spiritual shoulda-coulda-wouldas, the checklists of necessary spiritual ‘need-tos’, ‘must-dos’, ‘have-tos’ that go unfulfilled.

Now therefore, thus says the LORD of hosts, “Consider your ways!

“You have sown much, but harvest little; you eat, but there is not enough to be satisfied; you drink, but there is not enough to become drunk; you put on clothing, but no one is warm enough; and he who earns, earns wages to put into a purse with holes.”

Thus says the LORD of hosts, “Consider your ways!”

I read this in Haggai yesterday morning and the Lord’s pointed finger landed on my errant heart.  For all my reading, for all my activity, for all my theological musings, I detect a coldness and a hardness toward the things of my God.  I am short with my husband, frustrated with my children, easily impatient, ashamedly ignorant of the Cross.

“You look for much, but behold, it comes to little; when you bring it home, I blow it away.  Why?”

It wasn’t a far stretch to transfer the indictment against Israel to a penetrating charge against my own waywardness.  

Consider your ways.  Consider your spiritual drought as evidence of your neglect in the eternal things of God.  Consider what flows from the wellspring of your heart.  You dwell in paneled houses while my house lies desolate. You expend energy to adorn your temporal home while you neglect to contribute to your heavenly abode.  Your sour attitude betrays the selfishness you harbor. You no longer serve Me out of love and gratitude.  Your busy activities are fueled by your desire to puff self and please man. You hunt for temporary gratification of insatiable desires while you ignore the spirit’s thirst that can only be quenched by Living Water.  Don’t be fooled.  Man looks at the outward appearance, I look at the heart. 

…therefore, because of you the sky has withheld its dew and the earth has withheld its produce.

I called for drought on the land…

Yes, Lord.  Call for drought on the land.  Let the grapes of luxury fill my mouth with bitterness, let the velvet clothes vex my callous skin.  In Your mercy, desolate my desires, awaken Your sword against my complacency and self-love.  Like Cain’s offering, reject the produce of my selfish activities laid on the altar that I may perceive the unchecked depravity of my heart and be humbly prostrate before the atoning sacrifice of the Lamb.

So the LORD stirred up the spirit…of the people and they came and worked on the house of the LORD of hosts, their God.

(Haggai 1:4-6, 9-10, 14)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dscody
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 21:13:33

    I am amazed at the Lord’s knowledge, wisdom and providence. For through you He has provided the precise message I needed to hear at the precise time I needed to hear it. Only He knew of my personal struggle at this very moment and of the ideal way to reach me.

    Thank you Julie, for your post today!

    DSC

    Reply

  2. julesnpebbles
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 21:25:54

    Praising God for His goodness~

    Reply

  3. JenIG
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 16:41:32

    hello my friend, i wanted to drop by and let you know I was thinking of you today!
    : )

    Reply

  4. Wendy
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 20:02:27

    Goodness, Julie……..this post also resonates greatly with me. So often I think things like “we need to pray desperately for ‘this situation’ or ‘that situation'” and then I get distracted by the next shiny thing that comes by. As my ways are considered, I pray that God would ignite such a passion inside of me that I do not waste a single day of this precious life I’ve been given. I pray that each day is truly for His glory and His Kingdom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

