Delight and Meditate in 2009

Last week, our pastor took time to encourage us to read through the Bible as a church family.  What could have been redundant and cliche ended up refreshingly motivating.  The emphasis was not on reading, rather, the appeal was to delight in the Lord and meditate upon His word.  

Year after year, I start out with different Bible reading plans and somewhere along the way I lose momentum and then fall far short of the finish line.  I’m so grateful that the Lord gives us a brand new year to try again!  I’ve linked to a few websites that have excellent reading plans and ideas.  Choose something and pray for diligence and for joy as you delight and meditate upon His Word.

http://www.esv.org/biblereadingplans

http://theologica.blogspot.com/2008/12/bible-reading-plans.html

http://www.backtothebible.org/index.php/Bible-Reading-Guides.html

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carla Burlando
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 18:14:06

    wow, I love that old time faith and the power behind the words. I will have to try out some of your reading list. I love reading Christian biographies and the writings of men and women of strong faith. One of my favorite Authors right now is Oswald Chambers. Its really hard to find his origional writings though. The bookstores only have My Utmost for His Highest. Online is the place. I love depth and books that really challenge me andmake me see things in a different way. I have a major peeve of mine is fluff books. I’m glad I found someone who also loves to read Christian non fiction. Now to just find the extra time. 🙂

    Reply

  2. julesnpebbles
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 18:56:14

    Carla, if you love Oswald Chambers, you might like his biography by McCasland – it’s the free audiobook of the month at http://christianaudio.com/free_download.php . Have you made a book list for the year? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

