Reading to Know Christ

*Title edited: it was bothering me to have the Lord’s name so flippantly stated in the title.*
I have been truly enjoying reading my Bible – yes, it’s only been a week since I’ve started chronologically!  I’ve never used a study Bible before to read through the year, I’ve always had what I call a ‘no-cheat’ Bible with only references and lots of margin to write in!  It’s a treat to have some additional insights along the way. 
This morning’s Revive Our Hearts key quotes set the tone for reading and studying God’s precious Word.  I wanted to share their thoughts:
  • “The Bible does not thrill. The Bible nourishes. Give time to the reading of the Bible and the recreating effect is as real as that of fresh air physically.” (Oswald Chambers)
  • God loved us so much He gave us this Book to show us His heart, to teach us His ways, to teach us His plan.
  • Don’t miss the point of Bible study. Don’t miss the point of Bible reading. Don’t just consider it as something to check off your to-do list. The purpose of getting into the Word is to meet Jesus.

The full version is here.

Leave a Reply

