Why I Love Puritan Writings

If you know me, you know that lately I am reading through many of the Puritan Classics. I want to encourage you to pick up a book by Thomas Watson or Richard Sibbes or John Bunyan and be prepared to be brought to your knees in worship of the One they served and adored. Their faith is one that brings tears to my eyes when I consider my own frail rendering of love for God. The un-modernized versions take careful concentration to collect the precious gems from every paragraph, even almost every sentence. But it is worth the effort and time. They loved the Word: their writings drip with scriptural references and illustrations and undergird every thought and expression. I’m greatly impressed and moved by their high view of God, their love for their Savior, their sacrificial care of others, their unshakeable faith in eternal future grace (Piper), their careful study of the Word, their worship and acceptance of God’s sovereignty in all things… the list goes on. But most of all, it draws me closer to the Christ they love and uphold. I will read 10 books at a time written by them if I could. So much better than the ‘spiritual junk food’ that’s being shoveled into modern churched people. That’s why I love Puritan Writings so much.

 

Read Rutherford: “I am half content to have boils for my Lord Jesus’ plaisters. Sickness hath this advantage, that it draweth our sweet Physician’s hand and his holy and soft fingers to touch our withered and leper skins: it is a blessed fever that fetcheth Christ to the bedside – I think my Lord’s, “How doest thou with it, sick body?’ is worth all my pained nights.”

“Glorify the Lord in your sufferings, and take his banner of love, and spread it over you. Others will follow you, if they see you strong in the Lord; their courage shall take life from your Christian carriage.”

“I am in as sweet communion with Christ as a poor sinner can be; and am only pained that he hath much beauty and fairness, and I little love; he great power and mercy, and I little faith; he much light, and I bleared eyes.”

“I find Christ the most steadable friend and companion in the world to me now; the need and usefulness of Christ is seen best in trials.”

“Learn to believe Christ better than his strokes; himself and his promises better than his glooms… ‘For we know that all things work together for good to them that love God’, ergo, shipwreck, losses, etc., work together for the good of them that love God: hence I infer, that losses, disappointments, ill tongues, loss of friends, houses, or country, are God’s workmen, set on work, to work out good to you, out of everything that befalleth you.”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 18:09:57

    Excellent. The fast food diet of most contemporary authors does not drink so deeply from the well of Christ’s glories and sufferings. As Luther said that true preachers are born in prayer, meditation, suffering. (I love the German word, Anfechtung.) We have tasted so little of the fellowship of Christ’s sufferings that we cannot see the contrast with His glories that we are numbed to it. The Puritans were bathed in sufferings. Their very lives were more difficult, and then with constant pressure to bow the knee to Baal, this made their Christ all the more dearer. To step into their writings puts us in a place where we smell the stench of hell and aromas of heaven in a much more glorious way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

