Prayer for Joni Eareckson Tada

I’ve been thinking of Joni Eareckson Tada all morning.  What grace the Lord has shown to me through her life!  I have much to be challenged by considering her suffering and her understanding of God’s sovereignty.  Justin Taylor has a video of one of her latest talks on his website and you can see her struggling to breathe: Between Two Worlds

Justin Taylor:  I asked her how readers of this blog could pray for her.

 

She wrote: I’ve been doing better and feeling much stronger since that presentation at the Dallas Theological Seminary chapel. If I were to ask for anything, I would say…

 

Pray that my very thin fragile bones gain bone mineral density from the quarterly Boniva treatments.

 

Ask God to help my family and care givers “be careful” when lifting me in or out of bed and other transfers onto airplanes.

 

Ask God to infuse courage into my heart daily! Pray away anxiety and fear of the future.

 

Help me not to become me-centered when I’m in pain!

 

Ask God to bring a helper who might be able to assist during nighttimes once a week — I’d like to give Ken and my friend Judy a break.

 

Ask God to alleviate the side affects of the pain medication I take… eventually I would like to wean myself off of it!

 

Plead to God that I might know Jesus better through all of this and not “waste” my sufferings!!

 

So would you consider taking these requests before the throne of grace? I know that she is deeply thankful.

Please join me in praying for this dear sister in Christ.  She has ministered to so many over the years.  The Lord has strengthened and inspired His people through her courage and dependence on her Savior.

Leave a Reply

